Day 19…soaking grains and rare diseases!

  • image

I’ve been feeling a bit poorly these last two days and struggled getting out of bed today. Fortunately, hubby is on a day off work, so he took on daddy duties this morning so I could be a lady of leisure. I am struggling with stomach pain, IBS flare up and generalised feeling of weakness in my limbs – a sort of ‘heavy’ sensation in my legs and chest, making my breathing shallow and uncomfortable.

image

As I’m lying in bed, I’ve been thinking over what has changed to make me feel so ill. I have felt so incredibly well the past two weeks or so.

I’m still taking my aloe geL every morning and my potassium rich smoothy at breakfast with banana and coconut water plus the other added juice and fruit. I’ve swapped my bone broth based home made tea time meal for processed food – frozen pizza on the night of my launch, a meal out at a local pub on Sunday where I ate a curry with rice etc and last nights egg fried rice and bbq ribs. I’ve also gone back to using bread daily, whereas I had dramatically reduced the amount I had been eating. There has not been a lot of fruit or vegetables consumed these days either other than my breakfast, so maybe there’s more to this link between diet and autoimmune disease than I first gave credit.

According to the research my sister has been doing in relation to healing the gut, a diet lower in grains and sugar and high in fat can be really beneficial for your health, especially if you do other things like reduce your exposure to chemicals (by making your own cleaning products etc). I have been reading into this and there is loads out there. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not claiming any of it is accredited by doctors – but it does make an interesting read.

A big part of the diet involves preparing grain properly by soaking For 12-24 hours before use in an acid medium (such as Apple cider vinegar) at a warm temperature  to activates phytase, helping to release important vitamins, as well as making grains, seeds and beans more digestible. In addition, soaking helps to reduce, or even eliminate phytic acid. (See The Nourishing Home). I’ll leave you to read more about that!

Another thing I am considering trialing is Royal Jelly. It is rich in vitamins and minerals such as A,C, D, E and B-complex vitamins like B5, which is essential for synthesis and metabolism of proteins, fats, carbs and several hormones. Royal jelly is said to aid cell regeneration, improve skin texture and help increase the body’s resistance. It has been shown to reduce cholesterol. Royal Jelly also contains acetylcholine which provokes adrenaline secretion (it’s this bit I’m particularly interested in re MG).


imageI mentioned previously about a blog about a year in the life of a 20 something living with MyastheniaGravis. I have been asked by the author to be a case study for Rare Disease Day, which is 28th February 2015. I have to write a short piece about how MG presented, how old I was, how I felt, how it has affected my life…This is exciting as we work towards raising awareness of MG and I look forward to sharing more about this in the near future.

Leave a Reply

