Day 13 – bone broth… good for the soul?

It has been said that during his long journeys Christopher Columbus made a remark in relation to his crew’s health: “Four vegetables are indispensable for the well being of man: wheat, the grape, the olive, and ALOE”.

Part of my research is how diet affects my health in relation to having an autoimmune disease. My sister has been looking into bone broth and the health benefits it can have on a ‘leaky gut’. She has seen positive results in relation to dairy intolerance, where her husband followed the GAPS diet and can now tolerate small quantities of dairy whereas previously he couldn’t eat any dairy.  I’ll be sharing her blog about that soon.

Bone broth

Broth (stock) is simply made by boiling bones of animals (of beef, lamb, poultry, or fish) with vegetables, herbs and spices.  It is something that can easily be added to your family’s diet, such as soup making, added as flavour enhancer to bolognaise sauce, gravy etc, the list is extensive. It is a traditional food that was used for centuries to flavour meals before convenience foods, preservatives and supermarkets took over.

Besides adding flavour to food, broth is an excellent source of minerals and is known to boost the immune system – ever wonder why chicken soup was said to be good for the soul? It can improve digestion. ‘All diseases begin in the gut’ – according to Hippocrates, and broths high calcium, magnesium, and phosphorus content make it great for bone and tooth health. Bone broth supports joints as it is really high in amino acids such as glycine, and is great for hair, skin, and nails due to the high collagen content. There are suggestions across the internet that say it helps eliminate cellulite, due to supporting smooth connective tissue. Hmmm.

A simple recipe for broth:

  • 2 pounds of bones (save from your roast lunch, or ask your butcher)
  • 2 chicken feet for extra gelatin (optional – I’m not sure I could cope with this)
  • 1 onion
  • 2 carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 2 tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Herbs and spices of your choice (couple cloves of garlic, bunch of parsley etc)

You don’t actually have to add the vegetables and herbs, it just adds to the flavour and additional nutrient content.

Boil for an hour, skimming the ‘foam’ off the top once it hits boiling point. You then just simmer it for as long as you decide is right for you (I’ve read anything from 6 hours to 24!).  You can then either use if to add to your cooking to enhance flavour, increase your mineral and vitamin consumption and help heal the gut, or simply drink it… not sure I could face that though!


 

Aloe Gel trial

I was skyping with my sister today (she lived in the States) and we were discussing whether I thought the Aloe Gel was making any difference to my general health and well-being yet.  I was explaining how I was feeling less tired and didn’t think my eyelids were as heavy-looking.  She agreed and commented that the last few times we had skyped, my eyelids looked semi-closed and made me look tired – one lid more so than the other. Normally, by 2pm my eyes are quite sore and dry/ irritated and very red.  It’s now 6pm and my eye lids are still not droopy and I now realise I have not had sore eyes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

